top of page
Search
  • batnadivart

Bringing It All Together: A Mockup

Now that I have some disparate image units to work with, I want to see how they can come together ("can" being the operative word--the point of this project is it can unfurl in multiple ways). A paper feels too small to develop a mock-up of a mural, so I take a not-so-pristine 100:120 cm canvas I find in the back of the studio. I figure the dust will only help create a patina.

The wall we want to work on is textured and full of color remnants. The canvas is a dingy grey. I start by laying in some watered-down acrylic color.



Once I have some texture and colure, I begin (once again) by recreating some of the patterns from the historic murals and tiles (I used both personal photos, and the archived materials given to us by the Miffal), until they weave all around the canvas:





Into this pattern, as in the watercolor, I began to include the image of the Saraphin wedding. I begin with the bride and groom:

Then again, add in the young girl:


Lastly, the curve of one of the leaves looks like the spoke of a wheelchair, and I interweave a hand guiding a wheel into the image:



I want to keep going, and refine this very rough, watered-down underpainting, but my studio day is done, and by our rules of "Exquisite Corpse," the image now belongs to Julia, to do with as she pleases.

Julia picks up the painting, to take to her own studio. The handover, at least, will be far easier to do on site!







5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page